Do you feel deserving?

Ephesians 2:8-9 “God saved you by his special favor when you believed. And you can’t take credit for this; it is a gift from God. Salvation is not a reward for the good things we have done, so none of us can boast about it.”

I have a problem. Well had, I am getting better I swear. I have a problem accepting anything from anyone. Help, food, even water at times. I can distinctly remember being in people’s homes and feeling incredibly parched, having them offer me a drink but saying no because I did not want to inconvenience them.

Trust me, I know how ridiculous this sounds. Inconvenience them by grabbing a glass and getting free water.

What I had to re-teach myself is that as much joy that it brings me to help people, to do things for them, they feel the same way in return. By not allowing people to care for me I was alienating myself, creating this aura that I can do everything myself and I don’t need help.

I can’t do everything myself, and I need help. Sometimes I need a LOT of help. Contrary to popular belief I’m not good at everything and I’m getting better at asking for help. For asking for a glass of water when I’m parched or letting people know when I’m hungry and need something to eat. I don’t know why it was so hard for me to ask or to let people know I needed help.

Salvation is the same. I can’t do it myself. I actually can’t do any of it myself. If there was something we could do then Jesus’s death on the cross would have been for nothing. If we could put in ‘x’ amount of hours volunteering and that would guarantee that we would get into heaven, then Jesus’s death on the cross was for nothing.

If we relentlessly tried to be passive and politically correct at all times and never hurt anyone else’s feelings and that would guarantee that we would get into heaven, then Jesus’s death on the cross was for nothing.

There is a book: How good is good enough. It does a great job of outlining popular belief in North America, that if we work hard and are nice and give occasionally to those in need, or better ourselves then that surely, will guarantee that we have a place somewhere after we die.

But it doesn’t. No matter what we try to do (or not do), it would never be enough. Sin permanently separates us from God, the only payment for sin is Blood. Jesus willingly sacrificed himself for our sins, past present and future. So that we didn’t need to do anything. We don’t have to work really hard to be good enough. The only thing we have to do is believe. Accept the gracious gift He freely gave to us on the cross. It’s free. All we have to do is accept it and we will have eternal life.

What could be a better gift?

Leave a Reply

