Praying not to be “Healthy”

Luke 5:31-32

Jesus answered them “Healthy people don’t need a doctor-sick people do. I have come to call sinners to turn from their sins, not to spend my time with those who think they are already good enough.”

I pray I never believe I am spiritually healthy. It happens, to me and to all of us. We see a person doing something we don’t agree with and pass judgement either out loud or in our hearts. But the truth is we are all sick, none of us are healthy and we all need God’s grace.

I was involved in a bible study a few years ago: Life Principles from the Women on the Bible. As we were studying the fourth chapter “Following God – Rahab” there was one part that struck me so hard. I would like to say that since reading that I changed forever and never reverted back to judging people; but I can’t.

What I can say is that I do remember it often and I refer to it myself frequently “The great revivalist Roy Hession used to say, ‘Be careful what you say about the faults and mistakes of others-they may have already been to the cross about them.’

Wow, isn’t that a smack in the face? But it’s true. How often do we go before God and ask him to forgive us for our sins, forgive us of what we have done in the past. And what does he say? 1 John 1:9 “But if we confess our sins to him, he is faithful and just to forgive us and to cleanse us from every wrong”.

I know my own past and sins, I don’t want to be reminded of the daily and I certainly don’t want others who know them to judge me for what I have already laid at the foot of the cross. I know it happens, I know people do it, but I will continue to pray daily that I don’t want to be healthy.

 

Leave a Reply

